页首

自闭症研究中的社交辅助机器人

自闭症谱系障碍(ASD)是一种复杂的神经发育疾病,会影响沟通、社交和行为。对于患有自闭症的儿童和成人来说,在这个世界上遨游是一项挑战,但社交辅助机器人(SAR)领域的技术进步提供了新的可能性。


SAR 的定义是什么?


SAR 是一类专门为人类提供社交和情感支持的机器人,通常用于医疗保健、治疗、教育或各种护理环境。要成为 SAR,机器人必须具备感知周围环境、与人类用户互动、展示适当的社交暗示以及建立有效的语言和非语言交流的能力。凭借所有这些能力,SAR 可提供与众多不同性格的角色进行模拟社交互动的机会。


SAR 在 ASD 研究中的作用


凭借其社交互动能力,SAR 已成为 ASD 研究的有力工具。合成孔径雷达在该领域的主要作用是诱发目标行为,从而找到帮助儿童学习和社交发展的方法。与发育正常的儿童相比,患有 ASD 的儿童通常表现出有限的情感交流技能,如保持注意力、建立眼神交流、展示面部表情、传达情感表达、使用手势和模仿社会交流暗示的能力都有所下降。通过使用 SAR,可以评估和量化 ASD 儿童与发育正常的同龄人之间在沟通和社交行为方面的差异。SARs 的个性化也是一大优势,因为它可以根据儿童的反应和进展实时调整有针对性的干预措施。


这些信息在诊断过程中起着至关重要的作用,让研究人员和教育工作者深入了解如何对 SAR 进行编程,让患有 ASD 的儿童积极参与,促进以学习和培养社交行为为重点的练习课程。

米斯蒂在 ASD 研究中的潜力


多年来,Misty 已成为 ASD 研究领域的一种创新工具,作为一种有趣且引人入胜的学习和社交发展媒介,Misty 前景广阔。自 2019 年以来,已有多个 ASD 研究项目涉及 Misty,学校、研究机构和实验室将 Misty 用作 ASD 儿童的 SAR。例如 St.特殊教育部的教师们就在探索如何利用 Misty 来吸引有特殊需要的学生,并改善学生的自我调节、自我决定、沟通和适当的社交能力。

圣弗兰谷学校创新中心的米斯蒂


在挪威,挪威计算中心也在部署 Misty,作为 ROSA 项目的研究工具。 ROSA 项目,该项目旨在创建和评估一个基于机器人的工具箱:该项目旨在创建和评估一个以机器人为基础的工具箱:面向自闭症儿童的机器人辅助教育(ROSA),供教师使用,以满足每个自闭症儿童的独特需求。以下公司也已将 Misty 部署为 ASD 儿童的辅助学习系统 Movia 机器人公司.


结论


总之,自闭症研究在促进我们对儿童自闭症谱系障碍(ASD)的了解方面发挥着举足轻重的作用。自闭症研究为研究人员和教育工作者提供了独特而宝贵的工具,因此其意义无论如何强调都不为过。 通过利用 SAR 的功能,他们可以加深对 ASD 的了解,开发更有效的干预措施,并最终提高 ASD 儿童的生活质量。

 

想进一步了解 Misty 在 ASD 研究中的应用吗?欢迎您与我们联系。





89 次浏览0 条评论

评论


页底

top of page

Socially-Assistive Robots in Autism Research

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a complex neurodevelopmental condition that affects communication, social interaction, and behavior. For children and adults with autism, navigating the world can be challenging, but technological advancements in the field of Socialy-Assistive Robotics (SAR) offer new possibilities.


What defines SARs?


SARs are a specialized category of robots designed to provide social and emotional support to humans, typically in healthcare, therapy, education, or various caregiving settings. For a robot to become a SAR, it must possess the capability to perceive its surroundings, engage with human users, exhibit appropriate social cues, and establish effective verbal and non-verbal communication. With all these capabilities SARs offer opportunities for simulated social interactions with a multitude of characters with different personalities.


The role of SAR in ASD research


With their socially interactive capabilities, SARs have emerged as powerful tools for ASD research. The primary role of SAR in the field is centered around eliciting target behaviors to find ways to aid children in their learning and social development. When compared to typically developing children, children with ASD often exhibit limited emotional communication skills, such as reduced ability to maintain attention, establish eye contact, display facial expressions, convey emotional expressions, use gestures, and imitate social communication cues. Through the utilization of SARs, it becomes feasible to assess and quantify the disparities in communication and social behaviors between children with ASD and their typically developing peers. Personalization of SARs is also significant advantage, as it enables tailored interventions that can be adjusted in real-time based on children's responses and progress.


This information plays a crucial role in the diagnostic process, giving researchers and educators insights into how a SAR can be programmed to actively engage children with ASD, facilitating practice sessions that focus on learning and developing socially appropriate behaviors.

Misty's potential in ASD research


Over the years Misty has emerged as a innovative tool in ASD research, showing great promise as a fun and engaging medium for learning and social development. Since 2019 there have been a number of projects in ASD research involving Misty, with schools, research institutes and labs deploying Misty as a SAR for children with ASD. For instance at St. Vrain’s Special Education Department in the state of Colorado, United States, special education teachers explore different ways in which Misty can be used to engage students with special needs and improve student self-regulation, self-determination, communication and appropriate socialization.

Misty at the Innovation Center for Saint Vrain Valley Schools


In Norway the Norwegian Computing Center is also deploying Misty as a research tool for the ROSA Project, which aims to create and evaluate a robot-based toolbox: Robot Supported education for children with ASD (ROSA) for teachers that can tailor content and learning for the unique needs of each child with ASD. Misty has also been deployed as SAR for children with ASD by companies like Movia Robotics.


Conclusion


In conclusion, SARs play a pivotal role in advancing our understanding of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) in children. The significance of SARs in this context cannot be overstated, as they offer a unique and invaluable tool for researchers and educators alike. By leveraging the capabilities of SARs, they can enhance their understanding of ASD, develop more effective interventions, and ultimately improve the quality of life for children with ASD.

 

Curious to know more about Misty's applications in ASD research? You are welcome to contact our humans.





73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page